2014 NASGW Industry Awards Announced


Leadership Awards, Awards of Excellence and Innovation Award Announced

NASGW Expo & Annual Meeting

Naperville, IL (October 15, 2014) – Over 450 members met last night to kick off the 2014 41st Annual Meeting and Expo of the National Association of Sporting Goods Wholesalers (NASGW) held at the Marriott Hotel and the Statehouse Convention Center in Little Rock, Arkansas. Kent Williams, NASGW Chairman, welcomed the members and set the stage for three days of productive meetings as distributors, manufacturers, manufacturer’s reps and media prepare for the coming sales year.

Each year at this event, NASGW Awards the top optics, accessory, ammunition and firearms manufacturers who best demonstrate a commitment to the two-step distribution process, and who provide outstanding value and service. Wholesaler members evaluate the performance of manufacturers on four key criteria; distribution policy, marketing, sales and promotion; logistics and operations and NASGW and industry support. This comprehensive assessment of manufacturer performance has been designed to provide a more balanced appraisal that truly recognizes the best of the best according to NASGW distributor members.

This year’s Leadership Award recipients are:

2014 Optics Manufacturer of the Year: Leupold & Stevens, Inc.

2014 Accessories Manufacturer of the Year: Birchwood Casey

2014 Ammunition Manufacturer of the Year: Hornady Manufacturing

2014 Firearms Manufacturer of the Year: Sturm, Ruger and Company, Inc.

New this year the 2014 Importer of the Year: IWI US, INC


Awards of excellence were also announced during this year’s leadership program. Winners in this category include:

Burris Co. Inc.: Excellence in Optics

Crimson Trace Corporation: Excellence in Accessory Manufacturing

Winchester Ammunition: Excellence in Ammunition Manufacturing

Glock  Inc.: Excellence in Firearms Manufacturing

Also new this year, Excellence in Imports: Eagle Imports, Inc.

“These companies represent quality products and services to our members for many years and have been strong supporters of wholesaler distribution,” said Williams.

2014 Innovator of the Year Announced

Another category this year recognizes and individual or company that has developed a unique

product, service or strategy that excels above the competition.

This award went to: O.F. Mossberg & Sons, Inc.


For more information about the annual NASGW Industry and Leadership Awards, contact: Maurice Desmarais, President

National Association of Sporting Goods Wholesalers

1833 Centre Point Circle, Suite 123, Naperville, IL 60563

or visit the association’s website at wwww.nasgw.org,  email:info@nasgw.org, 630-596-9006.